The Debt
  • The President and Congress Are Fiscal Swamp Monsters

    By Ivan Eland

    All the recent talk in the political media has been about ideological division and partisan rancor, yet the results when progressives and nationalists and Democrats and Republicans agree should also...

  • Senate Majority Leader Mitch McConnell speaks as U.S. President Donald Trump listens during a Make America Great Again rally in Richmond

    Senate Sends $2.7 Trillion Budget Deal to Trump

    By Michael Rainey

    The Senate on Thursday approved the massive two-year budget deal passed by the House last week. President Trump is expected to sign the bill, which was negotiated by House Speaker Nancy Pelosi and...

  • Congress Needs Some Fiscal Rules

    By Veronique de Rugy and Jack Salmon

    Approval ratings for Congress are slumming at 17%. This is nothing new. With the exception of a short-lived patriotic spike following 9/11, it has been going on for decades . Yet this already failing...

  • District of Columbia

    What the Fed’s Rate Cut Means for the National Debt

    The Federal Reserve cut its benchmark interest rate for the first time since 2008 on Wednesday, lowering the target for its overnight lending rate by a quarter point , to between 2% and 2.25%, in an...

  • A sign marks the U.S Treasury Department in Washington

    Treasury Plans Big Jump in Debt Sales

    By The Fiscal Times Staff

    The U.S. Treasury announced Monday that it plans to borrow more – a lot more – than previously projected in the third quarter. Total borrowing is expected to hit $433 billion in the July-to-September...

The Debt Directory

Tags
Monday, December 31, 2012 - 2:00pm
Thursday, December 20, 2012 - 12:02am
Monday, November 26, 2012 - 12:20am
Wednesday, November 21, 2012 - 6:01pm
Friday, November 16, 2012 - 12:01am
Thursday, November 15, 2012 - 2:08pm
Tuesday, November 13, 2012 - 2:57pm
Wednesday, October 17, 2012 - 12:14am
Tuesday, October 9, 2012 - 12:00am
Friday, October 5, 2012 - 12:30am
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 2:33pm
Thursday, October 4, 2012 - 12:03am
Tuesday, October 2, 2012 - 3:08pm
Tuesday, October 2, 2012 - 12:07am
Thursday, September 27, 2012 - 10:00am
Monday, September 17, 2012 - 12:17am
Friday, September 14, 2012 - 4:56pm
Wednesday, September 12, 2012 - 12:03am
Sunday, August 19, 2012 - 12:30am
Wednesday, August 1, 2012 - 3:57pm